The Cost of A Motorcycle License: What You Need to Know
A look into the hidden cost of getting a motorcycle license. All you need to know and more about taking the test.
You have just bought a motorcycle and are thinking of testing it out on the road. But you don’t have a license yet. Yes, you need a motorcycle license to legally ride your bike. At least, most states require that you get a Class M license before you can finally hit the road with your bike.
The next logical question is: how to get a license and what’s the cost? Let’s find out.
If you’re under 18 years of age, the first step you need to take is to get a motorcycle permit. You are eligible to apply for a permit if you are at least 15 or 16 years old, depending on your state’s law.
To acquire this permit, you need to take a motorcycle riding class and pass a motorcycle written test and a vision test. The legal requirements may vary from state to state, so make sure that you check your state’s law beforehand.
If you’re already eligible to apply for a license, you need to apply for a Class M license in order to legally ride a motorized two-wheeled vehicle. The requirements may vary per state. However, the constant requirements are the following: (1) pass the written exam and (2) pass the road test.
The cost of a motorcycle license
Obtaining a motorcycle license is fairly affordable. As long as you are able to pass the test on the first try, then you will only be paying the fee once. The application fee may vary by state, but the fee is usually not more than $50.
For instance, in California, the fee for a learner’s fee is $35, while the fee for a motorcycle license is $36. Enrolling in a motorcycle driving class usually costs less than $50. The fee is even cheaper in other states. In Illinois, for example, the application fee is only $10. There may be other fees depending on your state.
Considering how affordable it is, there is no reason for you not to obtain a motorcycle license. It is extremely dangerous to drive without a license, and yes, more costly too if you get into trouble,
Penalties for driving without a license
It is very unwise to ride a motorcycle without a license. You can be slapped with a hefty fine and penalty, and possibly face jail time for a misdemeanor. In California, if you get caught riding a motorcycle without a license, you’ll get a penalty of $1,000 fines and even up to 6 months of jail time. It’s more costly and dangerous to hit the road without the necessary license, so never ride a bike until you’ve gotten your license.
Get a motorcycle license
There are no shortcuts to it. You need to get a motorcycle license before you can ride your bike, The cost of obtaining a Class M license is relatively low compared to paying for a penalty and facing jail time. Good things come to those who follow the legal requirements. Just have patience. You’ll be able to cruise the highway soon.